XOne free games from different country

Xbox One / Series X|S

Found 17 posts - Go to Last Post

Hi everyone,

First of, let me start by saying I'm new at gaming on the XOne. I know the XOne is region free so there should not be a problem downloading free games from stores in other countries.

Only if I do so they don't show up in my download queue. If I try to buy them again I get the message I already bought them. Anyone know if I'm missing something?

These are the steps I took to get the free games (for example SMITE):
1. Go to Xbox.com
2. Click on Netherlands in left bottom corner and change region to USA
3. Sign in
4. Select free game and click purchase
5. Click USA in left bottom corner and change back to Netherlands
6. Check on XOne if game is in download queue (and it isn't Frown )

If anyone knows what I'm missing please let me know.

Cheers
Eddie
SMITE is free in UK too. Its possible that while games are region free, they'll only work on the country setting downloaded to as they will have DRM protection whereas retail discs install centrally.

I think....
Last edited 07-03-2016 at 07:55 AM by PJMC1986.
SMITE is free in UK too. Its possible that while games are region free, they'll only work on the country setting downloaded to as they will have DRM protection whereas retail discs install centrally.

I think....
Originally Posted by dieselv2
Seems like I got SMITE to work somehow. Now it's Onigiri (and if possible the HK version of Neverwinter). Marketplace claims I've bought it 29th of June, but so far not showing. I guess I'll switch region on my XOne once it's finished downloading all the Dutch stuff Smile
Are you member of the Preview Program? There are a few issues with Ready To Install in the latest preview version that are out atm.
Have you tried to do a Soft Reset of the Xbox? (hold the power button for ten seconds until it shuts down?