Member of the Month February 2015 (Fshguy)

Community Interviews

Found 10 posts - Go to Last Post

Ah yes, Super Bowl Sunday is here and gone.. and just who was this years MVP?....um...oh wait this the new Member of the Month thread...lol.. well here we go then, let's talk about one of our MVP’s here at GTN, no not me…but thanks for the nice thought.. Let’s get to know one of our developers here a little more and while some of you may already know this gamer from around the web and a recent migration of sites, here is a little bit of info for those that may not know him. Who know maybe now he'll update his profile here... http://www.gamertagnation.com/about/

Name:
Shawn Blagg

What do you do for a living?
It shouldn’t be too much of a surprise, but I’m a professional developer. I work for Catalina which is a company that creates coupons that come out at practically every grocery store in the US. I’ve been coding since High School and haven’t really stopped since.

Tell me about your Gamertag?
Fshguy
I’ve been using this tag/variation since my AOL days, I was Fshguy2 at the time. I picked it because I really enjoy keeping tropical fish. It got reinforced when I moved to Florida and took up scuba diving. I have a nice 90 gallon tank with African cichlids now.

What got you into programing for game sites and just how much time does it take?
It all started when, big surprise Trapper and Fatty Chubs added a badge for coding using the 360voice API. I had already been tracking the genre badges in a spreadsheet, so I created the Badge Calculator to get the badge and have an easier way to track the genre badges. I have to give kudos to croaker111 as he invented the Badgescore system for 360voice and I just took it over and adapted it for the Badge Calculator.

Your semi-famous around these parts just how many web sites have you programed for?