Member of the Month August 2014 (Kaens)

Community Interviews

Found 29 posts - Go to Last Post

The start of a brand new month means a new MoM interview and this month we get one of our more vocal and helpful members, hailing from Virginia and a most extreme badge hunter (he currently holds the #1 spot for badges on GTN) as seen on this leaderboard: http://www.gamertagnation.com/leaderboards/site/badges/

Name:
Lee Atkins, aka Kaens

What do you do for a living?
I’m a Tech Manager at AOL where I run part of Mail Operations. I’ve been with AOL for 18+ years, prior to the CD mass mailings, so I’ve been there for the rise and fall to wherever you feel like we are now.

Tell me about your Gamertag?
Kaens
So I’ve been using Kaens since my Everquest career started in late 1999, so for nearly 15 years now. I used to play this MUD called Darkness Falls, which was a premium game on AOL. Back then people had to pay $2.99 an HOUR to play online games, but since I was an employee it was free and I was hooked. Eventually that game became Dark Age of Camelot, which is when they lost me. In that game I played an imp class (which was the rogue class) named Sneakiest. Once I joined Everquest, that was taken, shortened it to Sneak, which was also taken, so I reversed it - Kaens.

When did you start playing? Games?
The first console I owned was a Pong system my mother brought home from the Thrift Store. I don’t even remember if it worked or not. Charlie, a kid who lived across the street from me, was the only person in the neighborhood to have an Atari so that was my first home console experience. Up until then, it was just trips to the 7-11 or Chuck E. Cheese’s so I could get play arcade games. Ms Pac-Man, Galaga and Zaxxon stood out to me back then.