Windows Phone upgrade

Tech & Electronics

Found 19 posts - Go to Last Post

Alright folks, I've been sporting my HTC Trophy since August 2011, and my wife has the newish HTC X8 (I think) which has allowed me to play some new games - but - its about time I upgraded my Trophy, which is only running 7.4 Mango and finally getting an 8 OS. My question to you fine people, whose opinion I find more meaningful the longer I'm a member here, is which W8 phone should I go with? I like the Lumia 1520, but it's really new right? I guess what I am asking here is for a community input slash debate on the best W8 phone currently out.

Begin!
I've had a few WP7s, and even more WP8's now. When it comes down to it, I don't think there is a better option than the Nokia's.

I've had a 920, 928, and I'm now on a Nokia Lumia Icon. My wife uses the 1020. She LOVES the 1020 because she uses it to take pictures of the kids, and boy does it do a good job at taking pictures. My 900's and Icon also do a good job, but the 1020 is amazing in what it can do. Out of all of them, I prefer the form factor of the Icon, it has flat sides so I can stand it on it's side so my mom can watch the kids eat via Skype or I can play music loudly in the shower, etc. It also has wireless charging, which is super cool and convenient at work, I just place it on the charger and pick it up when it rings; no plug in or out.

That said, I've loved all of them. I would say it depends on your carrier. Verizon I would have a hard time recommending anything other than an Icon, AT&T 928 is good, unless you need an amazing camera, then 1020. The 1520 is just a bit too big for my taste, but I can see the appeal of a "phablet"; I'll just wait to pick up the Surface Small (or whatever they call it, revealing at the end of the month). T-Mobile is hot and competitive in the budget market and the 5xx series are popular and good phones.

My vote: Verizon Icon if you can, and update it to 8.1 as soon as possible.