Not a review, first impressions

Sunset Overdrive

Found 14 posts - Go to Last Post


I've only played a couple of hours of Sunset Overdrive, but I'm really enjoying it. The humor is good, not every joke hits, but none have been groan inducing yet.

There is a TON of settings and configurations so it's going to take a bit to get everything down, but off the bat the controls, grinding, shooting, and mobility are quite fun and easy to manipulate.

I think I'm going to enjoy this a lot.
Yup.
Two questions..

  1. Subtitles?
  2. Can I turn off rumble?
Learn more about me: Member of the Month August 2014
Please read/rate my reviews! And if you happen to be an older person like me, join my 40+ Club leaderboard!

I... don't know. I will let you know in a few hours.
Yup.
I've been running into a lot of games that you can't turn the rumble off on the X1 and there is no gamer profile on the system level. So I end up not being able to play late at night because all the darn rumble keeps my wife awake. Subtitles is bc I usually play on mute for same reason.
Learn more about me: Member of the Month August 2014
Please read/rate my reviews! And if you happen to be an older person like me, join my 40+ Club leaderboard!

10-30-2014 04:43 PM StaffPremium
I've been running into a lot of games that you can't turn the rumble off on the X1 and there is no gamer profile on the system level. So I end up not being able to play late at night because all the darn rumble keeps my wife awake. Subtitles is bc I usually play on mute for same reason.
Originally Posted by Kaens
Surely there's one for the One controller as well. Maybe even mode it for nighttime use.
Have you joined the soon to be #1 leaderboard on the site? If you ever enjoyed 360voice(or even if you haven't been there), please join:
http://www.gamertagnation.com/leader...aderboard-149/
Yup, you can turn on subtitles and off vibrations. Options pointed out with help from my daughter Alice:
http://imgur.com/a/4xZep
Yup.
Yup, you can turn on subtitles and off vibrations. Options pointed out with help from my daughter Alice:
http://imgur.com/a/4xZep
Originally Posted by palmettobling
Sweet, thanks Palmetto! Thanks for nothing, Fsh!
Learn more about me: Member of the Month August 2014
Please read/rate my reviews! And if you happen to be an older person like me, join my 40+ Club leaderboard!

So does this play a lot like a skate game with guns? I'm only asking because I generally don't like skate games, like the grinding do you need to balance or is it pretty much an auto balance so you don't fall off. I hear a lot of combos depend on a grind start?
Life goal own all retail X-Box games. My collection: X-Box: 535, X-Box 360: 1204, One: 178
Let us get to know you: I want to be on the spotlight 2.0 Join here to enter GTN's monthly Challenge: Challenge, What Challenge...
Its not like a skate game. I'm not a big fan of those either. You hop on the rail, and grind; you can change directions, go from top to below, take detour paths, boost, slow down time a bit with aiming, and there is even a auto aim when just grinding. There is a lot you can do, and its all made pretty easy, and fun to try and link you movements into combos doing different stuff.
Yup.
Its not like a skate game. I'm not a big fan of those either. You hop on the rail, and grind; you can change directions, go from top to below, take detour paths, boost, slow down time a bit with aiming, and there is even a auto aim when just grinding. There is a lot you can do, and its all made pretty easy, and fun to try and link you movements into combos doing different stuff.
Originally Posted by palmettobling
The grinding looks a lot like the Jet Set/Grind Radio games to me. Since I have not played it yet, can you offer an opinion/comparison?
10-30-2014 10:44 PM StaffPremium
Just played a couple minutes, but the rail stuff reminds me of Bioshock Infinite.
Have you joined the soon to be #1 leaderboard on the site? If you ever enjoyed 360voice(or even if you haven't been there), please join:
http://www.gamertagnation.com/leader...aderboard-149/
Just played a couple minutes, but the rail stuff reminds me of Bioshock Infinite.
Originally Posted by Fshguy
Since I have not played BioShock Infinite, would you compare that to JSR or JSRF?
I've only played a couple of hours of Sunset Overdrive, but I'm really enjoying it. The humor is good, not every joke hits, but none have been groan inducing yet.

There is a TON of settings and configurations so it's going to take a bit to get everything down, but off the bat the controls, grinding, shooting, and mobility are quite fun and easy to manipulate.

I think I'm going to enjoy this a lot.
Originally Posted by palmettobling
Not a bad game at all. I enjoyed it. A lot of the weapons might as well be "Ratchet and Clank" reskins, and that's not a bad thing :-) My verdict: Crazy fun game Smile
I've never played Jet Set Radio or JSR Future, but I am aware of them, and I would say it has a similar vibe.

From what I have read of JS(Grind)R or JSRF, I believe the controls are possibly more refined, as you're not properly skating, per se; though there are some times in SO where I would think I should hit a particular move (wall run, wall run around a corner, changing direction versus going down below) that doesn't land or act as expected.

I'm going to be splitting my time between finishing Titanfall and Sunset Overdrive, as I am enjoying them both so much. I would say this is a great game worth a look.
Yup.

Sign up for a new account. It's free and easy!

Sign up for an account

Already have an account? Login here

Login to your account

Similar Threads

Thread Title Forum Replies Last Post
Started by GTN Eric
Xbox One 5 06-06-2013 06:18 PM
Started by Blank Planet
Gaming Chat 19 11-13-2009 11:59 AM
Started by GTN Eric
Flock! 0 03-06-2009 11:50 PM
Started by GTN Eric
FIFA 09 0 09-11-2008 06:13 PM
Started by mumbo
General Chat 0 09-07-2008 02:53 PM